Investigative Journalism with Satellite Images

General intro

Numerous tools and millions of freely available satellite images now offer unprecedented opportunities to investigate the climate crisis, environmental issues and geostrategic hotspots, even in the most inaccessible places on earth.

Learning objectives

Satellite imagery, mapping and geospatial analysis tools are becoming essential tools in journalism as well as in many other professions (for humanitarian workers, human rights investigators, etc.), especially when mobility and access to certain regions are restricted.
Using multiple case studies and practical exercises, this course focuses on the collection, analysis and validation of satellite data and images, and on how to combine them with traditional information sources to produce richly documented and illustrated investigations.

Targeted skills

  • Understand the many current uses and far-reaching possibilities of satellite images to illustrate and enrich one’s information and communication work
  • Master the basic concepts related to satellite imagery
  • Know how to search, verify, and locate geospatial information and data
  • Know how to produce video clips and animated maps with Google Earth and other free mapping tools

L’investigation par satellite

Présentation générale

Une foule d’outils et des millions d’images satellitaires en libre accès offrent aujourd’hui des possibilités inouïes pour enquêter sur l’urgence climatique, les questions environnementales et les enjeux géostratégiques, même dans les endroits les plus inaccessibles de la planète. ISJT

Objectifs du cours

Les images satellitaires, les outils de cartographie et d’analyses géospatiales deviennent des outils incontournables en journalisme comme dans de nombreuses professions (travailleurs de l’humanitaire, enquêteurs sur les questions des droits de l’homme, etc.), notamment lorsque la mobilité et l’accès à certaines régions sont restreints.

A l’aide de multiples exemples et d’exercices pratiques, cette formation se concentre sur la collecte, l’analyse et la validation des données et images satellitaires, et sur la manière de les combiner avec des sources d’information traditionnelles pour produire des enquêtes richement documentées et illustrées.

Compétences visées

  • Comprendre l’intérêt et les possibilités de l’utilisation des images satellites pour illustrer et enrichir son travail d’information et de communication
  • Maîtriser les concepts de base liés à l’imagerie satellitaire
  • Savoir chercher, vérifier et localiser des informations et données géospatiales
  • Savoir produire des animations vidéo et des cartes animées avec Google Earth et d’autres outils de cartographie gratuits